Hummus

Hummus has always been my favourite snack. I love to have it with pita bread and baba ganoush. Whenever I would crave for hummus, I would order it from a Lebanese restaurant near my home. Sadly that restaurant closed down. I tried hummus from other restsurants but I never really liked them.

So I thought, “Why not make it at home?”. I bought a can boiled chickpeas, tahini paste and the other ingredients. I was tasting it as i was making it, and after a lot of additions and subtractions I devised my perfect hummus recipe. Here is the recipe for you all. You can always amend the recipe to replicate  your prefect hummus. 😀

Hummus Recipe:

Serves – 4

Ingredients:

Chickpeas – 1 cup boiled

Tahini paste – 3-4 tbsp

Juice of 1 lemon

1 clove of garlic

1/3 to 1/2 cup olive oil

Paprika – for garnishing

Olives – for garnishing
Method:

In a chopper or a blender, blend the chickpeas, tahini paste, garlic, lemon juice and add in olive oil slowly while its blending. Please make sure that you don’t over blend it, otherwise the hummus will split. When everything combines and it reaches a smooth consistency, hummus is ready.

Dish it out in a bowl and top it with olive oil, paprika and olives.

You can serve it with grilled chicken, as a sideline. Or on its own with cucumber and carrot sticks and toasted pita bread.

Please note that i used the boiled chickpea can. If you can not find it, or don’t want to use the processed chickpeas you can always boil them at home. Here is how to do it:

How to boil chickpeas:
Soak 1/4 to 1/3 cup chickpeas over night in water with 1/2 tsp of baking soda. Change the water in the morning and boil them till they are soft yet hold their shape. This will yield enough chickpeas for our recipe. 🙂

Leave your comments on how you found the recipe. 🙂

Leave a Reply

